What's your opinion on carbon fiber instruments?

24 replies [Last post]
What's your opinion on carbon fiber instruments?

I recently had a chance to audition a carbon fiber violin and I must say I went in with low expectations and walked away throughly surprised.

Would you consider something other than a wooden instrument?

Commenting on this Forum topic is closed.

Groups: None
carbon fiber instruments

I've been playing an Ovation 12 string guitar for 21 years. I catch a lot of flack from the traditionalists, but it sounds great, always stays in tune, and doesn't have a problem with humidity. Woods nice, but don't fear change!

No fear here, actually. I

No fear here, actually. I ended up getting it a week later and I love it. I also love my wooden instrument. I use the CF fiddle for jams and the wood for playing in the orchestra. The two instruments play very differently.

So far I don't get much flack for it - more outright curiosity - but I've also not brought it into the other world I play in. I'm not sure how a shiny black fiddle would go over in a sea of wooden instruments. :)

Like you describe with your guitar, it could care less about the humidity. The hair on my bow cares, but the violin just stays in tune.

Anybody out there have any hands on experience with a CF mandolin?

Carbon Fiber Guitars

I have played both Rainsong & CA Acoustic guitars. And they both are fantastic sounding guitars. The CA Acoustic was all one piece construction (body & neck laminated as one piece). No problem with warping neck. But, I still prefer the mellow tones of real wood. Especially Koa wood!!!!!!
Russ

Got to play a Carbon Fibre whistle...