ready to convert... classical to bluegrass!

8 replies [Last post]
Groups: None
ready to convert... classical to bluegrass!

Hi all,

I'm new at this. I'm moving to the Hartford area of connecticut in a few months and am looking to learn how to fiddle. I played classical violin through high school, took about a decade off, miss playing, but am ready for something new. Does anyone know a teacher in the area who could teach me the ways of bluegrass fiddle?

Thanks!

Commenting on this Forum topic is closed.

jfiddle - I don't know of

jfiddle - I don't know of teachers in the area, but your background sounds a lot like mine. Classical violin training through high school and a bit into college, work became a priority for the better part of 10 years with little playing, followed by getting back into playing.

I still play classically, but I've found playing folk styles to be so rewarding and just plain fun.

I recommend finding several local jams and attending them as regularly as you can. A teacher is helpful, but I suspect you'll find as I did that simply diving in is really important.

If your goal is competition fiddling, then a teacher is very important. If you want to learn to improvise or get better at improvisation, get out and just do it.

Learn cording on the fiddle if you don't know it, learn the I, IV, V chords in G, D, A and C to start with and go play.

Scott

PS: Consider getting a mandolin. Fiddle to mando is not "hard" once you get past not having a bow, and it helps to have a rhythm instrument at bluegrass jams.

Awesome! Thanks Scott.

Awesome! Thanks Scott. Glad to hear that there are other folks out there who have switched styles successfully. I'm excited to get out there and give it a go. I've tried a bit on my own, and at this point I just need to get over sounding so stiff. I joke that I sounds like a ballerina trying to dance hip-hop. But I suppose I'll loosen up with time and practice. Thanks for the advice and happy fiddling.

-Julia

Jump In