Ramsey, NJ (north Jersey) jam anyone?

9 replies [Last post]
Groups: None
Ramsey, NJ (north Jersey) jam anyone?

Hi There! I am putting my feelers out to North Jersey jammers to see how many might be interested in starting a weekly or bi-weekly jam here. I moved back to North Jersey 3 months ago and it is nearly impossible to find people who are interested in folk music here, much less a jam.

I have a meeting place in mind - a great space in a pub with good food and drink for those interested. I'm thinking an early weekday evening filled with all things acoustic, banjos, mando, dobro, guitars, washboard...very casual, respectful of solos, and all levels welcome. Especially singers.

I'd be happy to do the legwork of organizing, etc. All you need to do is show up and have fun. Thank you!

Commenting on this Forum topic is closed.

Hi Lisa, I am a beginner in

Hi Lisa, I am a beginner in Mahwah and would be interested in joining in on my mando. Lynne

Hi Lynne

Thanks so much for replying! I love the mandolin and would be so happy to get together. I don't know anyone else around here who plays, do you? If you do, I'd be happy to host at my place in Ramsey one night. I'm thinking if we could get maybe 2 or 3 more people to start with that would be enough to make a pretty good circle. :) What are some songs you think you might like to play?
Great to meet you, Lynne!
Lisa

Hi Lisa, There are a few

Hi Lisa, There are a few teachers I can call to see if they have students who would be interested. There used to be a guy in Nyack I heard was looking for a group, and there are teachers in Mahwah and Suffern. We would definitely need more people because I am rank beginner. Most of my "playing" is from the Fiddlers Fakebook. I play when I visit my son in KS and we attend different jams. There are so many people there I can play the chords I know and it doesn't affect the music :-).