Putting Nylon Strings on a..

15 replies [Last post]
Putting Nylon Strings on a..

I have been interested in a classical guitar for a long time simply because there are those times when I want a particular sound in an arrangement. Not being in the position to go out and purchase a quality classical guitar, I was curious if anyone has tried putting nylons strings on an accoustic. I have an Ovation Balladeer that appears to enable me to tie the nylon strings onto at the bridge. Pros/Cons?

Also, why do they make the neck width of a classical guitar so bloom'n wide? My hands just arn't that big.

Commenting on this Forum topic is closed.

Nylon vs. Steel

I'm no expert in classical guitars but I believe one difference between steel and classical nylon stringed guitars is that the neck of steel stringed guitar is built with greater tension to resist the pull of the heavy metal strings. I know that way, way back when they had to change guitar construction to accomodate the heavier strings because the necks of classic guitars would simply snap under the pressure. As amplification technology improved, the guage of steel strings strings began to come down as did the resiliance of the guitar neck.

All that being said, I'm sure that modern guitars aren't as variable in their performance with different guages all the way down to nylon. I'm sure you could at least try out the feel of playing classical if you have a spare guitar to play around with.

And I totally agree with you. The neck width of classical guitars was invented to make us small hand guys feel bad. That's why I hold a pick. :)

-Shawn

Groups: None
Stings