Novice fears, nerves, and welcomes?

37 replies [Last post]
Groups: None

I have a background in a lot of different styles and a couple instruments, but I am new to organized jamming (other than with friends and a lot of familiarity with those in the living room). Most performing I have been involved with was well rehearsed, choreographed etc. My wife has just started to become involved with music, and I am new to bluegrass/folk and the routines that seem to be common.

We have been reading up on protocol and are planning to start hitting a few jams, open mics etc. to familiarize ourselves with the culture. One of my bigger concerns is how we, beginners, are welcomed, viewed and tolerated. My wife is easily embarrassed, but also easily encouraged. I, on the other hand have little fear of failure (try, try, again thing).

Is it common to find others helping those of us less experienced voluntarily, or is it usual for a fair amount of coersion is needed to find someone to mentor the newbies. I think you catch the drift here, we most likely will participate whole heartedly with encouragement, but, sometimes it is hard to get the introductions and acceptance to acclimate to the unfamiliar.

What can we expect and how do we go about initiating ourselves into the culture?

Commenting on this Forum topic is closed.

I guess the only time I felt excluded in a jamming session was at a bluegrass festival where inadvertently stumbled on a large group who were practicing for a show. Rather then tell me what I'd done they closed their circle tighter and kept playing. My reaction? If they want to hear me play they'll just have to buy a ticket from now on.