I'm Not Cheap, Just Poor

7 replies [Last post]
Groups: None
I'm Not Cheap, Just Poor

Hey guys, I'm just looking for the best place to find some FREE guitar tabs for flatpicking bluegrass. I have bought 3 books. They are great but they cost $40 bucks a pop. I would really like to find tabs for Ashokoln Farewell. I've look on the web some but thought it would be easier to have someone just tell me where instead of spending hours going from one site to the other. Thanks

Commenting on this Forum topic is closed.

flatpicking tabs

Here's a great site for tabs. Also try Flatpicking Hangout. http://www.kimandmikeontheroad.com/music.htm#D

Sterling grass

Groups: just william50
jam groups in the tulsa, ok area

I'm not a novice but I am just begining bluegrass and would like to find other like souls in the tulsa, area to jam with on a regular basis

Thanks Sterling, I'll check

Thanks Sterling, I'll check them out tonight.

Tabledit

HD28V,

There is a software tool called Tabledit ( http://www.tabledit.com ) that plays tablature files for numerous instruments. The program not only displays and prints the tab but it will also play through the music, highlighting the tab notes at varying speeds to help in learning the tunes.

If you grab the software and do some Googling for 'Tabledit bluegrass' and the like you will find a number of great sites with files for download.

The software and tab files are essentially free although you can register the editor/player for additional features.

There is also a more established guitar-oriented program called PowerTab that has some similar resources. I recommend giving them both a try but when I was doing some similar searches a while back, I found Tabledit to be one of the best aids for learning for bluegrass and old time music via tab notation.

-Shawn
Play Well.

Tabledit, Power Tab

Hi, I'm a student at the folk school of st. louis (I manage their web sites) and saw this post.