The 'essence' of Irish

3 replies [Last post]
The 'essence' of Irish

I have a wonderful problem I need help on.

I was asked by a local promoter to put on an Irish Workshop during a day of performances. I was told since I play a lot of Irish tunes to feature a workshop where other musicians can learn the essence of Irish music. Now then pilgrum, if I was asked to do the same for an old timey or a bluegrass festival you'd have to get out of the way. Chording, breaks, passing the lead, alternative melody lines work in bluegrass and old timey but for Irish? Fat chance. Chording gets trampled with quickly flowing melodies. So what's a guy to say? I'd like your opinion of what makes Irish work, what is the essence of Irish I can pass on to others.

Jim

Commenting on this Forum topic is closed.

I'm no expert

I'm not a pure Irish player by any means but I have noted some distinct between the forms (particularly old time and Irish) that I think stand out fairly clearly for anyone who is actually trying to play the different styles.

I believe the timing and syncopation of rhythm is easily one of the biggest differences that I encounter. When playing tunes in common time there is more "bounce" in the timing than similar tunes played in a straight (or blues tinted) bluegrass style. There are also more original Irish tunes that are nearly continuous strings of eighth notes which can really help produce this kind of 'trot' feeling. Of course jigs are extremely common in Irish music and these come with a 6/8 time signature that almost forces that feel.

I believe that Irish music also tends to have a broader instrument pallet than most bluegrass or old time music. There are often more instruments occupying more registers (e.g. guitar, fiddle, voice, pipes, accordion, percussion, etc.) but even individual instruments are played in a fuller voicing. There are often a high number of chord changes relative to the song melody which makes for a much fuller sound.